Humor, Humor, Everywhere

Jay Cole image

Humor is our most enjoyable form of truth.

NOTE: This introduction will be pinned to the top for a month or so to allow people to get a feel for the what, where, why, when and how of this blog. Scroll down or select from the menu to the right for the latest posts. Many thanks!
 

There are great, new, talented, often prolific authors keeping the humorous novel alive. Further, there are authors in many other genres with no fear of allowing their droll, dry, dark, or just plain wicked wit to sneak onto the page, whereupon it will jump up and slap the reader’s funny bone. Humor is absolutely alive and well.

Yes, this is a new blog.

I vigorously studied many varied, usually self-proclaimed blog guru’s opinions before making this attempt. They all recommended that I find a niche topic with certain characteristics:

  1. I should know my subject well.
  2. I should be comfortable talking about it.
  3. I should have something worthwhile to offer my readers.
  4. I should sober up before posting.

Well, I took their advice to heart and contemplated my limited list of talents. What could I offer my readers that would be so valuable that they would listen to me sober? Realistically, and somewhat immodestly, the only thing I do well is write humor and comedy.

Wait a minute!

Humor belongs in every writer’s toolbox.

Ancient archers did not pull one of their best arrows out of their quiver and throw it away before going into battle. Every writer should have the ability to add a bit of humor to the odd character, the offbeat story, the terribly tedious How To, or anything else that he\she might care to write. Humor is as vital to the craft of creative writing as nouns, verbs and adjectives.

So, let’s talk about it.

What to Expect

I’m open to just about any suggestion, but for starters, I’ll discuss the craft of humor writing, reviews of humorous novels and stories, seamlessly blending humor into other genres, and just about anything else I can think of that will be useful when writing humor and comedy. I also won’t be above passing on a great joke if it’s deserving, and I’ll do my best to properly attribute them to the original author or performer. (I do so hate when someone, besides me, steals a great line.)

I also hope to lead you to new humorists who are deserving of a look and a laugh.

We’ll discuss any future additions\plans\changes along the way. I have no fear of change; it’s usually all I have left at the end of the week.

That’s generally called a ‘groaner’. We’ll discuss that, too.

Not so much a How To as a How Everybody

Humor and comedy is truly universally applicable. It has jumped onto the pages of fiction and non-fiction alike. It graces the Sunday sermon and lightens up the serious political speech. It tickles children and pushes a walker at the rest home. There really is room for everybody, whether you write professionally or just send off the occasional email. It’s come one, come all—laughter awaits.

Above all, I’d like this to be a discussion, so sharpen your pen, dust off your keyboard, and drag your wicked wit out of the closet. Humor is always best when shared.

This is where I should inject a nice platitude about success being a journey and not a destination, but I lost that little slip of paper from my fortune cookie, so I’ll just ask you to turn to the next blog and we’ll get started.

Parting Funny: “I’ve been on so many blind dates, I should get a free dog.” – Wendy Liebman

Next Up: Repeat After Me, I’m Funny

4 thoughts on “Humor, Humor, Everywhere

  1. Great start, Jay. Agree wholeheartedly (without serious repercussion, I hope) that humor has a place in every facet of life. I no longer laugh 500 times a day, but on some days, I greatly exceed that number. Most of those days include an herbal kick-start, but hey…what matters the source? ;o).

    Like

Leave a Reply

